DUI Penalties in Utah

DUI/DWI Charge Sentencing

The penalties for a DUI conviction will depend on several things, including whether this is your first DUI and how high your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was when tested. In most cases, a skilled defense attorney can reduce or eliminate the standard Utah DUI penalties, and may be able to prevent a DUI conviction.

Most of the time, even when you do not have a defense attorney, a judge will not impose the maximum jail time or the maximum fine for each charge. However, if you have other crimes on your record, or if this is a serious DUI, the judge will may impose a more severe penalty. Also, if you have multiple charges, the judge may add the jail time and/or the fines together.

In addition to court fines, you must also be aware of additional costs associated with a conviction. For DUIs, the court will order substance abuse screening and treatment and often drug or alcohol testing. The cost of treatment and testing will depend on your individual circumstances, but can be thousands of dollars.

Finally, some employers will not or cannot hire or promote employees with certain criminal convictions on their record. This can also affect you financially. If you are concerned about the potential penalties you are facing or have additional questions, you may want to contact our office for a consultation.

Minimum and maximum Utah DUI penalties for a first DUI conviction:

Minimum Sentence (1st DUI) Maximum Sentence (1st DUI)
48 hours in jail, 48 hours of community service, or home confinement with an ankle monitor;$1,295 fine

120-day Driver License suspensionAlcohol/Drug Screening

PRIME for Life Class

6 Months Jail$1,850 Fine Plus Surcharges

Additional 2 year Suspension of Drivers License

Alcohol/Drug Screening, Treatment, and Testing

Supervised Probation

PRIME for Life Class

Ignition Interlock Device

Minimum and maximum Utah DUI penalties for a second DUI conviction:

Minimum Sentence (2nd DUI) Maximum Sentence (2nd DUI)
10 days in jail, 240 hours of community service, or home confinement with an ankle monitor;$1,550 fine

120-day Driver License suspension

Alcohol/Drug Screening

Supervised Probation

PRIME for Life Class

6 Months Jail$1,850 Fine Plus Surcharges

Additional 2 year Suspension of Drivers License

Alcohol/Drug Screening, Treatment, and Testing

Supervised Probation

PRIME for Life Class

Ignition Interlock Device

Minimum and maximum Utah DUI penalties for a Felony DUI conviction:

Minimum Sentence (Felony DUI) Maximum Sentence (Felony DUI)
62.5 days jail (1,500 hours)$2,775 fine

Alcohol/Drug Screening, Assessment, Counseling and Testing

Intensive treatment or inpatient and aftercare of 240 hours

Supervised Probation

1 year Driver License suspension

PRIME for Life Class

Ignition Interlock Device

DNA Sample Submitted to the State

0-5 year prison term$9,250 Fine

Alcohol/Drug Screening, Assessment, Counseling and Testing

Intensive treatment or inpatient treatment and aftercare of 240 hours to 5 years

Supervised Probation (If no 0-5 prison term imposed)

Additional 2 year Suspension of Drivers License

PRIME for Life Class

Ignition Interlock Device

DNA Sample Submitted to the State

Contact Our Criminal Defense Lawyers

Intermountain Legal can get involved immediately to maximize your chances of minimizing some of the Utah DUI Penalties. By taking immediate action, an attorney can ensure that your rights are protected and that you make the right decisions. An attorney will know how to challenge key evidence, which can lead to the reduction or complete dismissal of criminal charges.

To contact the DUI attorneys at Intermountain Legal, call 801-990-4200 or click here to fill out our email form.

To read more about DUI Charges in Utah see the links below: