Knowledgeable Criminal Defense Attorneys Help You Understand the Basics of Burglary Charges in Utah
Through skill and experience, our lawyers help fight charges of burglary in Salt Lake City
If you have been charged with burglary in Utah, the consequences can be serious and lasting. The most important step you can take to protect your future is to speak with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can advise you of your rights and guide you through the legal process. The penalties for burglary in Utah are usually less severe if you have a lawyer working on your behalf. The lawyers at Intermountain Legal in Salt Lake City know Utah burglary law in detail and have years of experience resolving even the most serious cases. Because of our background in prosecution, we have relationships with Utah judges and prosecutors that put us in an exceptional position to help you get the best possible outcome in your case.
Utah burglary laws
Many people in Utah have the mistaken belief that burglary is the same as theft. However, under Utah law, you do not have to steal anything to be charged with burglary. A person is guilty of burglary if they go inside a building or remain in the building with the intent of committing a crime listed by Utah law:
It is the intention of committing one of these crimes that matters for the sake of a burglary conviction and not the actual commission of the crime. This means that you could be charged with burglary in addition to being charged with one of the other listed crimes. Each burglary defense lawyer at Intermountain Legal can help you understand these charges and prepare your strongest defense strategy.
Utah aggravated burglary laws
A person can be charged with aggravated burglary in Utah if there are additional circumstances involved in committing a burglary, attempting to commit burglary or fleeing from a burglary. Burglary changes to the more serious charge of aggravated burglary if the burglar:
- Causes bodily injury to a victim who is not participating in the crime
- Has, uses or threatens to use a dangerous weapon or possesses an explosive
Utah burglary and aggravated burglary penalties
Burglary is a third-degree felony in Utah, which can be punished by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. However, if the burglary is committed in a private home, it is a second-degree felony that may be punished with one to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Aggravated Burglary is a first-degree felony on Utah, with punishments including five years to life in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. In addition, a felony conviction on your record can have lifelong consequences, such as making it extremely difficult to get a job. An experienced burglary defense attorney in Salt Lake City can help you minimize these consequences.
Contact high quality burglary defense lawyers for dedicated assistance in your case
If you have been charged with burglary, contact the criminal defense lawyers at Intermountain Legal online or by calling 801-590-4774 for a free consultation. We help you understand your options so that you can make informed decisions about your case. Our criminal defense attorneys at Intermountain Legal have the experience to help you minimize the consequences of the charges against you so that you can move on with your life.